The Campfire Sessions

image

1. Second Sun

2. Some Kind Of Love

3. Soulmate

4. Dreaming

5. ‘Bluesy

6. Hate

7. Oh Lord, Please

8. Here We Go

9. Embers

10. Lonely

11. Life’s Precious Gems

12. Surrender To Me

13. Your Fool

Copyright 2015 Bryan Breaux
“The Campfire Sessions” – Bryan Breaux
“Second Sun” is the opening track of this album. This song has one acoustic guitar panned left that is open chords. Another acoustic guitar is panned right and is open chords using a capo for a different voice. The third acoustic guitar sits center and carries the melody for the entire song. The name is inspired by what is near to us all. Many years ago, when I was when in my early twenties, I read ‘The 12th Planet’ by Zecharia Sitchin. Planet X, Nibiru, Blue Kachina, Wormwood, Destroyer… it has many names… but we are all begining to see the second sun and all it’s companions. If you doubt it… just look up into the sky and keep looking… sooner or later, you too will see all. Surprised? Prepare.

“Some Kind Of Love” is the second track. This song began with an acoustic guitar panned left strumming the chords. The drums were recorded next and are just left of center. The piano came next and is panned right playing chordal arpeggios. The electric bass guitar followed and sits just right of center. Next, came an electric guitar panned hard left playing ornamental leads. Another electric guitar was then added and is panned right playing chords and the melodic solo parts.
The vocals were last and are panned hard left to give it the ‘old school’ sound. The ‘Cha Cha Cha’ ending was then added to give it a tasty ending. This is the first single that I released for ‘The Campfire Sessions’. I truly like the way that this tune sounds.

“Soulmate” is the third tune. First, I laid down an acoustic guitar track. Next, I recorded the drums onto two tracks in stereo. The electric bass guitar was next. I then recorded the electric guitar track that is panned right and plays the melodic line throughout the entire song.  The lead vocal was then recorded onto a track.  I then added the harmony vocal track. The final two tracks I added were the hand claps. The instrumentation of this song is simple. Anything more would have been too much. This tune was already written and composed, yet, it truly came to form in editing.

“Dreaming” is the fourth song of the album. The drums were the first two tracks I recorded in the large wooden floor, walls and ceiling of the Castle studio. No reverb nor effects were added. What you hear is the drums and the room sound. I then laid the rhytym electric guitar track down and panned it hard left. An electric bass guitar was recorded next. The right panned electric guitar was then recorded and is the one that plays the melodic solo throughout the tune. I then added the electric keyboard track that embellishes the chords. Finally, I recorded the vocal track. Speaking of simple instrumentation… Less Is More… Art Is Simple… this song is a fine example. This was a rhythm guitar chordal progression that simply grew in time. Since this tune has received so much response since the release, I went back to the board and remixed a longer Dance version and even tuned it down to 432 Htz. for all to enjoy.

“Bluesy” is the fifth song. This one began with a cell phone recording of a blues piano improvisation that I did late one night at the Lake Cottage. I then took that cell phone recording file and ran it through software to split it up into different frequencies and in the end cut it up into three tracks. I then recorded the electric bass guitar track. Next, I recorded the two electric guitar tracks which are complimentary and are both panned hard left and right. I sat on this cell phone recording for a good while before pulling it out and working it into this final package.

“Hate” follows as the sixth song.  This song was written and composed on the acoustic guitar and rightfully so, an acoustic guitar was the first track I recorded. Next, I laid down the drums onto two tracks in stereo. The electric bass guitar was next. I then added the electric guitar using a volume pedal that breathes in and out of the tune similar to a pedal steel.
Next, I recorded the vocal track. Finally, I recorded the acoustic guitar solo track. This is all that it took to make this nice country song. The inspiration… well, we all have been there once or twice.

At seven, we go to heaven… ‘Oh Lord, Please”.  This is a song I wrote and composed many years ago. I first recorded an acoustic guitar track. Another acoustic guitar using a capo came next. I then recorded the snare drum using ‘Hot Rod’ bundle sticks. The muted electric bass guitar was next. I then added four tracks of hand claps. Next, I recorded the clean lead vocal track which is panned right. I then recorded a distorted  lead vocal track that is panned left. The middle harmony vocal track was then recorded and is panned left. Next, the upper falsetto harmony vocal was recorded and is panned right. I then added an old Hammond organ onto a track to carry the tune even more as it fades in and out. There is a mandolin also in there on the right side. Finally… since, I don’t blow or suck a harmonica..  I called my childhood friend, Scott ‘Dr.Zog’ Hartzog, to come out to the Lake Cottage to lay down a few takes of harmonica playing. I chose to use his first take… all of it… live… as is… great job Zog! I hope you all enjoy my one Gospel tune.

“Here We Go” comes in at number eight. The acoustic guitar track was recorded first. I then recorded the drums in stereo. An electric bass guitar track came followed. Next, I recorded the lead vocal track. After this, I laid down the electric guitar track that solos throughout the tune. The harmony vocal track was the last track I recorded to finish this little diddy.

“Embers” is the ninth tune of the album. This instrumental song is two tracks. The first one being an acoustic guitar playing the chordal progression. The second track is also an acoustic guitar playing the melodic solo. I recorded these two tracks using the microphone of a laptop. The tracks were very dirty. I cleaned them up a wee bit and added a dab of effects then left it as is… truly raw. I just thought that it was a cool tune with a great minor third modulation… I also thought that the rawness of these tracks could not be repeated… nor did I want to try. What you hear is what you get.

“Lonely” follows as the tenth track. First, the kick drum was recorded. Next, I added the ride cymbal. I then laid down the acoustic guitar track. The electric bass guitar was next. I then added a snare drum. Next, I recorded the vocal track track. I then recorded the electric guitar track. An acoustic guitar solo was recorded next. Finally, I recorded the an electric keyboard here and there to put the finishing touches on the song.

“Life’s Precious Gems” is the eleventh song of the album. I first recorded an acoustic guitar track. I then laid down two drum tracks in stereo, left and right. Next, I recorded an electric bass guitar track. I then laid down an electric guitar strumming the chords to compliment the acoustic guitar. An electric guitar solo track was then added. Another electric guitar solo track was also added to extend the  solo. I then recorded the whispering lead vocal track. A second stronger vocal track was recorded next to give the vocals a doubling effect. If and when the ‘shit hits the fan’… then we all may have to “jump and fall and lose it all.”.

“Surrender To Me” is the twelth song.  The first track I recorded is the strumming acoustic guitar. I then recorded the electric bass track. Next, I laid down the electric keyboard melody onto a track. Finally, I recorded the vocal track in the big walk-in shower of the Castle studio giving the vocals that unique quality. This song is complete with these simple four tracks.

“Your Fool” closes out this album as the thirteenth tune.  Written and composed many years ago, I decided to pull this tune out of the songbooks to record it properly. First, I laid down the electric acoustic guitar track. Next, I added the electric bass guitar track and the doubled it by running the track back into a sub octave simulator to give it the low end. I then recorded the drums and cymbals onto two tracks in stereo. I then recorded the lead vocal track.  A distorted electric power chord track was recorded next. Finally, the magical electric guitar solo track was recorded. I am very pleased with the outcome of this song. When one is recording music and living in the moment, magical things can and often do happen. This tune has many examples of this… the vocal track… the drum tracks… the electric guitar solo track. Some say that musicians are clear channels bringing it down from the source. I believe this to be very true. This song’s long decayed electric guitar feedback brings a fabulous ending to “The Campfire Sessions”.

Bryan Breaux – vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, bass, piano, organ, keyboards,   drums, cymbals, tambourine, hand claps.

Scott ‘Dr.Zog’ Hartzog – harmonica

Recorded at Lake Cottage Studio, Volente, TX and Castle Studio, Spicewood, TX and The Musicians Woodshed, Bee Caves, TX.

Recorded, Enginereed, Mixed and Produced by Bryan Breaux.

Cover Art Photo by Karissa Reine.

All songs Written and Composed by Bryan Breaux / B.M.I..

© 2015 Bryan Breaux

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

