The Windy Sessions

image

1. Southern Wind

2. Throne And Crown

3. Dream Of You

4. Grow

5. Venus Danced

6. Help Us Both Live

7. I Need Your Hope

8. Stoned

9.  Love For You

10. I Can’t Live With You

11. Get Off My Back

12. Lost In Love

13. It’s Too Wild

14. Devil

15. Last Night

Copyright 2016 Bryan Breaux
“The Windy Sessions” – Bryan Breaux
“Southern Wind” is the first and title track of this album.  This tune began late one night / early morning as I sat at the upright piano at the Lake Cottage. All of the windows were open as I enjoyed the August wind flowing through the cottage. I pushed record on a small digital recorder and improvised this piano track. Months later, I cut this piano track up into three tracks dividing it by three different frequencies giving it the simulated stereo sound. I then added an acoustic guitar track that strummed the chordal progression. Finally, I recorded the mandolin that placed a counter melody to compliment the piano’s melody. You can hear the sound of the Texas Cicadias ebbing in the background of the piano tracks. This is one of my duets with other Texas natives. I felt that this instrumental tune was a great way to set the mood for this album.

“Throne And Crown” is the second song. A year or more before this recording, I came up with the rhythm guitar riff and sat on it. I finally put it to use when I sat down at the Castle Studio and started writing the lyrics with a friend, and fellow musician named Jeff Inman. Jeff came up with the first and second line of the chorus. This was the hook that also became the title. I first recorded an acoustic guitar track strumming the chords. Next, I recorded a kick drum track that followed with a snare drum track. I then laid down the rhythm riff on an acoustic guitar. I doubled that riff with a clean electric guitar. The electric bass guitar followed. I then recorded the lead vocal track. An electric rhythm guitar was added. Next, I added a distorted electric guitar that is panned left. I added another distorted electric guitar and panned it right. I wanted the melody of the riff to be a bit stronger. I chose a toy piano to accomplish this task. I added the harmony vocal next. I then decided to add a minute of intro to open the song. A distorted electric guitar played forward and backwards in stereo was the secret. Jeff then laid down the acoustic slide guitar that fills in the first minute of the tune. Finally, I recorded the electric guitar B Mixo-Lydian scale that runs here and there… also forwards and backwards. This closes out a description of all the tracks. I chose this tune as the first released single of the album.
I am happy with the final mix of this song. It shows what a lot of time ( two months ) and patience recording and mixing can truly do to a song. I hope you all enjoy.

“Dream Of You” is the third song. This is also a newly written and composed song. I initially composed the chordal progression on an acoustic guitar and the started recording the tune by laying down an acoustic guitar track. I then recorded the drums onto two tracks in stereo. Next, came the electric bass guitar. The lead vocal track was then recorded. I added an electric guitar playing the chords with bright sounding arpeggios. Next, I laid down the organ track using an old original Baldwin electric organ. The electric guitar solo track followed. Finally, I recorded the harmony vocal track. Like all good songs, when they come, they come fast. The lyrics were written in a hour or so. I love the 6/8 time signature. I also like the way the song just comes out of the gate with the lyrics and all… no time wasted. I hope you all dig this one. Just like the last song, this one is fresh and is a true representation of what my sound is today.

“Grow” is the fourth song. Written and composed many years ago, I decided to revisit it. I first laid down an acoustic guitar track. Next, I recorded another acoustic guitar track to compliment the first. I recorded the drums onto two tracks, live, in stereo. I then laid down a muted electric bass guitar. The lead vocal track followed. Then, four tracks of multi layered electric guitars were added to fill the sound even more. Finally, I recorded the harmony vocal track. This song is very sweet with all the electric guitars. I enjoy hearing them all sing together in the background. Not too long in length, this tune is just right… short and sweet.

“Venus Danced” is the fifth tune of the album. I first recorded the acoustic guitar track that is panned left. Next, I laid down an electric guitar strumming along and panned it right. The electric bass guitar was then tracked. The ride cymbal and side stick rim shot followed. The lead vocal track was then recorded. I added a vibraphone and panned it hard left. Next, I laid down this a keyboard synth bell pad to compliment the vibraphone. I then added an electric guitar track that played the descending harmony and panned it to the right. Another acoustic guitar track that adds even more to the melody was then laid down and panned left. I then recorded, the harmony vocal track. Finally, I added the big open low frequency tuned (F) kick drum to put the icing on the cake. This song was written and composed many years ago. The original demo has always been a favorite of mine. Instead of trying to rerecord the demo, I pulled it out and just started fresh with out refering back to the demo. I hope you enjoy.

“Help Us Both Live” is the sixth tune. This is another ‘oldie’ that was written and composed back in 1995. I started by laying down the first acoustic track that is panned left. I then added another acoustic guitar track that is panned right. The drums were recorded next. An electric bass guitar was added. The vocal track was then recorded. I then added an electric guitar that plays a nice simple note pattern on the left. A keyboard arpeggio was added to the right side. Finally, I recorded the electric guitar solo parts. This all comes together as a real nice song. It has always been a favorite of mine throughout tbe years.

“I Need Your Hope” follows as the seventh song of the album. This is another older tune that I pulled out of the songbooks to bring it to life. First, I recorded the strumming electric guitar that is panned left. I then laid down the vocal track. Next, I added an electric bass guitar onto a track then pulled it out and ran another line into a sub harmonic effect to give us the full two track heavy bottom bass sound. Lx5Finally, I recorded another electric guitar track and panned it right. Four simple tracks… nothing more. I hope… no pun intended… that you all enjoy.

“Stoned” is the eighth tune. This song was another one that came out of the songbooks from years ago. I first laid down an acoustic guitar onto a track. I then recorded the drums live, in stereo, onto two tracks. Next, came an electric bass track. I then laid down the vocal track. I also added two more tracks of harmony vocals. Finally, I added the electric guitar track that solos throughout the entire tune. I really enjoy the swing feel of this tune. It gives the song an “old school” vibe.

“Love For You” is the ninth song of the album. This is also one of the many songs that I wrote and composed in the past. I first recorded the the acoustic guitar track. I added another acoustic guitar track to fill up the sound a little bit more. I then sang the vocal track and recorded it onto a track. Next, came the electric guitar track.
The last track that I laid down was the electric keyboard synth pad sound that added just a tad more to the song. The falsetto vocal track really makes this tune.

“I Can’t Live With You” is the tenth song. This song was written and composed many years ago. I first laid down an acoustic guitar track. I added another track of an acoustic guitar using a capo to compliment the first. A mandolin is also on another track. A muted electric bass was recorded onto a track. Finally, I recorded two tracks of two vocal performances giving this vocals the “doubling” effect. I could have added more instruments but declined to do so. I felt that the simple strumming was enough. Sometimes, less is more.

“Get Off My Back” is the eleventh tune. Written and composed years ago, this one has always been a favorite of mine. First, I recorded an acoustic guitar track. I added another acoustic guitar track. An electric guitar track strumming along was next. An electric bass guitar followed. Wanting to feel a more definitive rhythm, I added the low sounding kick drum. The lead vocal track was then laid down. Finally, I recorded two seperate tracks of an electric guitar soloing and feeding back to add the final touches to this song.

“Lost In Love” is the twelth tune of the album. This is the newest tune of this album to be written, composed and recorded. I first laid down the drums playing the tribal 12/8 groove and fills. Next, I recorded the distorted rhythm electric guitar that is panned left. I then added an electric bass guitar that plays ‘A’ eighth notes for the entire song. I then added a soloing electric guitar with reverb from the large living room of Castle Studio. The vocals are two seperate tracks that were recorded one after another. The simplicity of this tune seems to be perfect.

“It’s Too Wild” is the thirteenth tune. This may be a political song. A revolutionary anthem. I am not sure. I first laid down the acoustic guitar strumming the chordal progression. Next, distorted electric guitar was added to strum the power chords to compliment the other and I panned it left. To thicken it up even more, I added one more acoustic guitar using a capo and it sits centered. An electric bass guitar was then recorded. A tuned open sounding bass drum track was added giving it the Hip-Hop / Rap kick drum sound. I then sang the lead vocal onto a track. Finally, I added a harmony vocal track.

“Devil” is the fourteenth song. It was during the evening of Halloween 2015 when I sat down with an acoustic guitar and pushed record on the machine and recorded this tune in one take, live. The acoustic guitar was laid onto one track. The vocals were recorded onto another track and then went through a “doubling” sound effect. No editing nor any alterations were done. This is the result. I truly believe that if musicians are clear, the source is else where. I am not sure where this one came from… but after the fact… days later… I listened and counted how many times that I played the round of the chordal progression. I was shocked to learn the cold blood chilling fact that the number is 18 (6+6+6)! Even though I have been credited, I didn’t ‘write’ this song!

“Last Night” is the fifthteenth and closing song for this album. I composed the guitar riff jamming with a drum student of mine… Thanks Kane. I then sat on the riff for some time before I finally recorded it onto a track. I then recorded another electric guitar playing the same riff with a different sounding amp setting. I then panned these guitars hard left and right. Next, I recorded the drums live onto two tracks in stereo, once again, capturing the big room sound of Castle Studio. Then, I laid down an electric bass guitar track. I then recorded another electric guitar playing a sustaining two note melodic line which flows left and right throughout the song. The lead vocal track was recorded next. I also added a track of harmony vocals here and there. Finally, one more track for an electric guitar that plays the solos throughout the song and turns into a wha-wha sounding solo towards the end of the tune. The title alone is good enough to make this the last song of “The Windy Sessions”.

Bryan Breaux – vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, bass, piano, toy piano, organ, electric keyboards, drums, cymbals, tambourine.

Jeff Inman – slide acoustic guitar on “Thrown And Crown”.

Recorded at Lake Cottage, Volente, Texas and Castle, Spicewood, TX in 2015 and 2016.

Recorded, Mixed, Produced by Bryan Breaux.

All songs Written and Composed by Bryan Breaux / B.M.I.. except one…
“Throne And Crown” was Written by Bryan Breaux / B.M.I. and Jeff Inman and Composed by Bryan Breaux / B.M.I..

Art Cover Photo by Bryan Breaux.

©2016 Bryan Breaux

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

